Cheering for the achievements of McLean High School students and staff!

Caroline Brunner elected to McLean Community Center Board as MHS teen representative, receives Girl Scout Gold Award


Posted on June 14, 2017 by


Caroline Brunner was elected to the McLean Community Center Board as McLean High School’s teen representative at McLean Day.


The prior weekend, she was awarded her Girl Scout Gold Award by the Girl Scouts of the National Capital.  Her project was Music Connection, which connected high school musicians and singers with the senior population in the community through a series of concerts this past year. Visit for more information about her project.

TheatreMcLean nominated for multiple Cappies Awards


Posted on May 16, 2017 by

Congratulations to our Cappies Award nominees for TheatreMcLean’s drama The Children’s Hour and to our Critics Team! These students will be honored at the Kennedy Center Cappies Gala on June 11.

Supporting Actress in a Play: Rachel Kulp
Sound: Jared Jacknow, Emily O’Keefe, Russell Reed
Props: Graydon Al-Khafaji, Anya Chen, Ariana Colder, Emma Mykityshyn
Creativity: Jared Jacknow (Music Composition)

Rising Critic: Helen Ganley
Rising Critic: Katherine Kelly
Rising Critic: Kristen Waagner
Returning Critic: Emily Lachow
Graduating Critic: Jess Scarano
Graduating Critic: Syona Ayyankeril
Critic Team: McLean High School Team

Latin students receive honors


Posted on May 5, 2017 by

The Department of World Languages congratulates the following students who earned gold and silver medals as well as certificates for their success on the 2017 National Latin Exam.

Perfect Score:  Summa Cum Laude (Gold Medal and Special Certificate)

Murray, Thomas

Thompson, Sapphira

Summa Cum Laude (Gold Medal)

Chang, June

Chun, Alice

Cooper, Lillian

Detter, Garrett

Dimatulac, Janine

Howley, Caroline

Kulp, Rachel

Lee, Eunkyoon

Liu, Ally

McCarthy, Katherine

Murphy, Ian

Parker, Sydney

Richards, Sophie

Simkin, Shane

Simons, Emily

Sultana, Rosy

Taylor, Kimberly

Tung, Kara

Van Meter, Catherine

Vijayakumar, Nithin

Weston, Jacob

Yoon, Byungjun

Yu, Alexander

Maxima Cum Laude (Silver Medal)

Aten, Jessica

Bravo, Antonio

Cube, Camille

Do, Aaron

Gong, Joseph

Holmes, April

Hur, Yoon

Huric, Inaya

Kwon, Minjung

Liu, Maria

Long, Katelyn

Mykityshyn, Emma

Sohn, Seoyeon

Zhang, Rachael

Magna Cum Laude certificate

Chung, Grace

Cusey, Ava

Cusey, Campbell

D’Aquila, Stephen

Galdo, Paloma

Gardner, Ann

Gartner, Charles

Gartner, David

Harris, Rose

Jun, Jaeson

Kang, Sungmin

Laborde, Natalie

Mitchell, Tara

Nappi, Thomas

Pearce, Alexander

Pearce, Cate

Schwarztrauber, Summer

Stadsklev, Ross

Thorson, Anna

Weinstein, Benjamin

Cum Laude certificate

Deatherage, Jade

Longo, Julia

Marks, Serena

Signori, Lily

McLean’s yearbook wins a Pacemaker


Posted on April 21, 2017 by

McLean’s yearbook and newsmagazine staffs were well represented at the National Scholastic Press Association/Journalism Education Association Convention in Seattle April 6 – 9. In the Yearbook Pacemaker competition, McLean’s yearbook was one of just 35 high school books nationwide to receive the Pacemaker honor. The 2016 Clan is one of just 19 high school yearbooks nationwide to be recognized with both a CSPA Crown and an NSPA Pacemaker this year!

In the Best of Show competition, The Highlander newsmagazine earned second place in the newsmagazine category and The Clan yearbook earned seventh place honors.

McLean’s publications are among the nation’s best! Way to go!

Jonghyun Choe qualifies to participate in the USA Mathematical Olympiad


Posted on April 5, 2017 by

Jonghyun Choe qualified to participate in the 46th annual USA Mathematical Olympiad (USAMO) on April 19-20, based on his performance on the AMC 12 exam and AIME this year. Qualifying for this exam places him among America’s top math students; only 500 students from the tens of thousands of American Mathematics Competitions participants are invited to take the USA(J)MO.

Wish Jonghyun luck when you see him!