Cheering for the achievements of McLean High School students and staff!

Lindsey Fisher named runner-up for Mount Vernon History Teacher of the Year


Posted on June 16, 2017 by

According to their website, “The Mount Vernon History Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually to a Washington, D.C. Metro area History or Social Studies teacher who brings creativity and passion to his or her classroom, instills a love of learning in students, and deepens student understanding and appreciation of history.” Congratulations to Lindsey Fisher for being this year’s runner-up!

Cappies critics honored at gala


Posted on June 14, 2017 by

At the annual Cappies gala, McLean students were presented with the award for Best Critic Team. In addition, Kristen Waagner won the Best New Critic award. Congratulations!

(Photo by Margaret Waagner)

(Photo by Margaret Waagner)

McLean Citizens Association presents five students with Teen Character Awards


Posted on June 14, 2017 by


Garrett Detter, Ian Murphy, Neha Vutakuri, Helen Ganley and Mairin Fallon received Teen Character Awards from the McLean Citizens Association. All five of this year’s honorees are from McLean High School! Please check out this article for more information about their accomplishments:

Caroline Brunner elected to McLean Community Center Board as MHS teen representative, receives Girl Scout Gold Award


Posted on June 14, 2017 by


Caroline Brunner was elected to the McLean Community Center Board as McLean High School’s teen representative at McLean Day.


The prior weekend, she was awarded her Girl Scout Gold Award by the Girl Scouts of the National Capital.  Her project was Music Connection, which connected high school musicians and singers with the senior population in the community through a series of concerts this past year. Visit for more information about her project.

TheatreMcLean nominated for multiple Cappies Awards


Posted on May 16, 2017 by

Congratulations to our Cappies Award nominees for TheatreMcLean’s drama The Children’s Hour and to our Critics Team! These students will be honored at the Kennedy Center Cappies Gala on June 11.

Supporting Actress in a Play: Rachel Kulp
Sound: Jared Jacknow, Emily O’Keefe, Russell Reed
Props: Graydon Al-Khafaji, Anya Chen, Ariana Colder, Emma Mykityshyn
Creativity: Jared Jacknow (Music Composition)

Rising Critic: Helen Ganley
Rising Critic: Katherine Kelly
Rising Critic: Kristen Waagner
Returning Critic: Emily Lachow
Graduating Critic: Jess Scarano
Graduating Critic: Syona Ayyankeril
Critic Team: McLean High School Team

Latin students receive honors


Posted on May 5, 2017 by

The Department of World Languages congratulates the following students who earned gold and silver medals as well as certificates for their success on the 2017 National Latin Exam.

Perfect Score:  Summa Cum Laude (Gold Medal and Special Certificate)

Murray, Thomas

Thompson, Sapphira

Summa Cum Laude (Gold Medal)

Chang, June

Chun, Alice

Cooper, Lillian

Detter, Garrett

Dimatulac, Janine

Howley, Caroline

Kulp, Rachel

Lee, Eunkyoon

Liu, Ally

McCarthy, Katherine

Murphy, Ian

Parker, Sydney

Richards, Sophie

Simkin, Shane

Simons, Emily

Sultana, Rosy

Taylor, Kimberly

Tung, Kara

Van Meter, Catherine

Vijayakumar, Nithin

Weston, Jacob

Yoon, Byungjun

Yu, Alexander

Maxima Cum Laude (Silver Medal)

Aten, Jessica

Bravo, Antonio

Cube, Camille

Do, Aaron

Gong, Joseph

Holmes, April

Hur, Yoon

Huric, Inaya

Kwon, Minjung

Liu, Maria

Long, Katelyn

Mykityshyn, Emma

Sohn, Seoyeon

Zhang, Rachael

Magna Cum Laude certificate

Chung, Grace

Cusey, Ava

Cusey, Campbell

D’Aquila, Stephen

Galdo, Paloma

Gardner, Ann

Gartner, Charles

Gartner, David

Harris, Rose

Jun, Jaeson

Kang, Sungmin

Laborde, Natalie

Mitchell, Tara

Nappi, Thomas

Pearce, Alexander

Pearce, Cate

Schwarztrauber, Summer

Stadsklev, Ross

Thorson, Anna

Weinstein, Benjamin

Cum Laude certificate

Deatherage, Jade

Longo, Julia

Marks, Serena

Signori, Lily