Crew wins gold medals at state championship

Posted on May 14, 2015 by

Last weekend, the crew club earned multiple awards at the state championships at Sandy Run Park in Occaquan.

The men’s lightweight 8+ boat, comprised of seniors David Kenworthy (stroke) and Connor Koch (7-seat), juniors Ryan Creeser (5-seat) and Patrick Croke (bow) and sophomores Grant Herzberg (6-seat), Jake Sechler (4-seat), Evan Korade (3-seat), Jared Lampal (2-seat) and Jake Wadle (cox), won gold in a scorching time of 4:36.2.

The second varsity heavyweight 4+ boat of seniors Jeffery Kim, Arda Arlsan and Truman Daly and juniors Derek Lore and JJ Foster also brought home gold.

The women’s varsity 8+ boat won silver medals in a tight race. The men’s lightweight 8+ boat and the women’s varsity 8+ crews won bids for the Scholastic Rowing Association of America Nationals, May 22-23 in Camden, NJ. Additionally, the men’s lightweight 8+ and the women’s varsity 8+ crews qualified for the National Scholastic Rowing Association invitational on the Occoquan Reservoir on June 7.

The previous weekend, the men’s 3V4+ and women’s 3V8+ earned first place finishes at the Ted Phoenix Regatta.

11193276_685179884961945_2789817361476293004_n 11205019_687838798029387_9124006441154846268_n 11218686_685179881628612_179014703563041946_n 11241444_687838884696045_3086068989825745980_o

Leave a reply with your Facebook account: