Category Archives: Clubs

Full width

Welcome back from Atlanta, DECA members! These dedicated students made it all the way to the national level of competition, and they had a wonderful experience attending this professional conference with more than 15,000 other attendees from around the world. With their commendable dedication and professionalism, they did a great job of representing McLean.

DECA members return from national competition


Posted on May 8, 2014 by

Varsity math team earns top scores


Posted on April 21, 2014 by

McLean’s varsity math team received the top cumulative score for individuals over the course of six Fairfax County Math League meets this year. They also earned the top team score, tying with Chantilly and Centreville. Great work, mathletes!

Debate team shows skills at Regional competition


Posted on April 8, 2014 by

Over the weekend, we had two McLean teams compete at Regionals, which is made up of a tough group of debaters. Both teams performed excellently. Heather Pincus and Andrea Delgado placed 1st, and Jamie Starr and Meredith Harris rounded out at 5th. The team will be heading down to Lynchburg in two weeks for the State competition.

2014-15 McLeadership Executive Mentors selected


Posted on April 2, 2014 by

Congratulations to the following students for earning spots as Executive Mentors in the McLeadership Program for the 2014-15 school year!  These students demonstrated leadership potential throughout this school year in their roles mentoring the freshman class.  Next year, they will continue to lead the program by training our mentors and working closely with the supervisors to create a great experience for the Class of 2018.

  • Juan Esteban Baus
  • Kacey Beckham
  • Chloe Bertholon
  • Korey Blodgett
  • Lizzy Brown-Kaiser
  • Anna Campion
  • Maddie Dalzell
  • Jack Holland
  • Niel Ketkar
  • Logan Legg
  • Brian Maffei
  • Katie McGinn
  • Grace Murray
  • Arjan Peters
  • Kayla Waysome
  • Amanda Whitfield

ADSA recognized as Certified Athletic Administrator


Posted on April 1, 2014 by

Assistant Director of Student Activities Fernando Belli recently received official recognition as a Certified Athletic Administrator through the National Interscholastic Athletic Administration Association. Obtaining this certification took a lot of extra work on top of all Mr. Belli does for McLean’s many wonderful activities, and I commend his efforts.

Model UN Club wins Best Large School award and other honors at conference


Posted on March 31, 2014 by

Congratulations to McLean’s Model UN Club, who attended the Loudoun Valley High School Conference last Saturday and left with multiple top awards, including the award for Best Large School. Three delegations were gaveled: Shivani Sabo & Alex Brunner, Fatima Shahbaz & Lily Saba, and Abraham Haj. Sib Hameed & Preety Shashtri were named an Honorable Delegation, and Yohan Ketkar received a Verbal Accommodation.

Model UN delegates received high honors at the Loudoun Co

Model UN delegates receive high honors at the Loudoun Valley High School Conference.

Duo qualifies for National Forensics League’s National Speech & Debate Tournament


Posted on March 25, 2014 by

Congratulations to Heather Pincus and Andrea Delgado, who placed second place at Virginia’s National Forensics League Tournament at Madison County last weekend. Their win qualifies the girls to compete at the National Forensics League’s National Speech & Debate Tournament.

Heather Pincus and Andrea Delgado display their place trophies.

Heather Pincus and Andrea Delgado display their trophies after Virginia’s National Forensic League Tournament.

Debate team places third for most debate wins in the area, two members headed to nationals


Posted on March 14, 2014 by

This season, the Debate team was ranked third for having the most debate wins among schools in Maryland, D.C. and Northern Virginia.

The team competed at Metrofinals at Broad Run last weekend, where Jamie Starr and Meredith Harris placed third. Wish them luck as they prepare for the national competition, which will take place in Chicago over Memorial Day weekend.

Congratulations to team sponsor Christina Shin and all of the Debate team members for their hard work this year:

Alexander Karimi and Hussain Jaffery
Maggie Lam and Leni Kagan
Andrea Delgado and Heather Pincus
Meredith Harris and Jamie Starr
Soobin Wang and Mia Chand
Brundha Akkupalli and Tina Chai
Susie Choi and Cynthia McMahan
Abraham Haji
Min Choe and Tanya Yoon
Michelle Ma and Matthew Steelberg
Ellie Allison and Jin Yong (Jeffrey) Yoo
Ashwin Dasgupta and Liam Zeya
Shivani Saboo and Esther Kim
Stephanie Su and Allison Meakem
Annabell Lee and Lilly Lee
Fatima Shahbaz and Jessica Boyer
Melanie Pincus and Anna Osguthorpe
Lucy Zheng
Naomi Jaffe and Aisha Singh
Mary Pottanat and Lucy Zheng
Sam Silverman and Sri Medicherla
Lia Compton and Crystal Cheung

Students take third in Science Olympiad regionals


Posted on March 14, 2014 by

The Science Olympiad team received third place in the regional competition. Science Olympiad teams compete in various events in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Sci Oly regional 3rd place 2014

Congratulation to the following Science Olympiad members:

Sunhee Bae

Peter Steele

Alice Choi

Bob Saydahmat

Henry Howe

Harsha Malapati

Hussain Jaffery

Olivia Mooney

Adam Barth

Kaustabh Bose

Ivan Wong

Kyubin Lee

Michael Mutersbaugh

Shivani Saboo

SJ Sridhar

Hal Clark

Eric Tchong

Maggie Holland

Justine Wen

Elizabeth Xu