Ellen Reilly

Students earn awards at FCPS DECA District Competition


Posted on November 13, 2017 by

Last week, the following students were first, second, and third place overall winners in their role-play categories at the FCPS DECA District Competition. This makes them eligible to attend the State Conference in March along with DECA’s teams and other event competitors.  Please congratulate them when you see them.

First Place:

Lily Cooper – Quick Service Restaurant Marketing

Jana Kral – Entrepreneurship

Zoe Mallus – Principles of Hospitality

Carter Robertson – Sports & Entertainment Marketing

Sydney Wang – Principles of Marketing

Second Place:

Cayla Davis – Marketing Communications

Caroline Howley – Food Marketing

Bryce Liquerman – Hotel & Lodging Management

Philena Sun – Entrepreneurship

Third Place:

Nathan Legg – Social Media

Paige Pilewski – Retail Marketing

Christopher Song – Principles of Finance

Other students who were recognized for their performance in their test or role-play:

Mason Davis, Janine Dimatvlac, Akati Doku, Caitlin Kelly, John LeMunyon, Kaitlyn Merritt & Eric Stresler

Yearbook named a Columbia Scholastic Press Association Crown finalist


Posted on November 10, 2017 by

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced their list of Crown finalists and McLean’s Clan Yearbook has been selected for this prestigious honor.  They will find out whether they receive a Silver or Gold Crown at the award ceremony at Columbia University on March 16.

McLean is one of just 46 high school yearbooks from across the country to make the list.

Another fun fact: McLean’s Highlander newsmagazine learned they were a news finalist for a Crown Award last month – there are just 10 schools in the NATION that have BOTH their newspaper and yearbook on the lists!

Marching band wins state championship


Posted on October 24, 2017 by

Congratulations to McLean’s marching band, who are once again the state champions! In addition to winning first place in the USBands Virginia State Championship last weekend, the marching band brought home awards for Best Music, Best Visual, and Best General Effect. 

Seniors recognized as National Hispanic Scholars


Posted on October 16, 2017 by

Mauricio Gerdes, Emily Lachow, Zoe Lachow, Emmanuel Steinerrobles and Isabella Whitney were recognized by College Board as National Hispanic Scholars. These students scored in the top 2.5% among Hispanic and Latino PSAT/NMSQT test takers in our region. Great work!

The Highlander newsmagazine is a National Scholastic Press Association Pacemaker finalist


Posted on September 21, 2017 by

The Highlander newsmagazine is one of just 49 high school news publications nationwide—and the only one in Virginia—to be named a Pacemaker finalist this year. Since 1927, the National Scholastic Press Association’s Pacemaker competition has been considered by many to be student journalism’s highest honor. Finalists were recognized for their excellence in coverage, writing, editing, design and photography, as well as “tenacious in-depth reporting.” Winners will be announced at the NSPA Fall Convention in Dallas this November.

If you’d like to subscribe to the print edition of The Highlander newsmagazine, please click here and return this form to McLean High School: https://thehighlandernews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Highlander-Subscription-Form-2017-18.pdf

Scholastic bowl team takes second at tournament


Posted on September 21, 2017 by

Justin Young, Ryan Shue and Jake Shue competed at the Virginia Tech Fall Kickoff tournament last weekend, where they finished second out of 22 teams. This placement qualified them for the NAQT Nationals in Atlanta in May 2018.

1 2 3 4 5 21 22